Evgeni Dybsky

Evgeni Dybsky lives and works in Berlin and Moscow. Born in Constanta, Romania, on the sea, which he considers metaphysically very important for himself. Grew up in Pavlovski Posad. He studied at the Moscow State Art School in Memory of 1905 (graduated in 1978), where one of his teachers was Yuri Sedov, who introduced Dybsky to the method of abstract painting. Then he entered the faculty of graphics of the Surikov Institute, more “liberal” and versatile, and graduated in 1984. N. L. Voronkov, who taught lithography there became his main interlocutor not only on the issues of the material, in which the student experimented a lot, too.

As a student in the 70s, Evgeni Dybsky showed his works at youth and one-day unofficial exhibitions. The artist’s first fame was brought by the XV Moscow Youth Exhibition (1983), which showed his Moskvoretsky landscapes on the verge of abstraction. In 1984 a small group of painters including Dybsky organized a one-day exhibition noticed by many at the House of Artists on the Kuznetsky Bridge.

In 1985, Dybsky met a group of Moscow metarealist poets, one of whom, Alexey Parshchikov, became his close friend.

In 1985-89. Evgeni Dybsky went to work in the Crimea every spring. The landscape works made in those years from nature with tempera are the basis or, as Wibke von Bonin wrote, the “reservoir of forms” of Dybsky’s later works, where the image is reduced and the painting becomes almost or completely non-figurative.

Since 1987, he has exhibited abroad: in Paris, Milan, Helsinki, Stockholm, Hamburg. In 1988, Dybsky’s works were sold at Sotheby’s in Moscow. In 1990 he moved to Milan, where he collaborated with the Giorgio Marconi Gallery. In 1996-2008 he lived in Cologne, then in Berlin. In 2003, Evgeni Dybsky had a solo exhibition at the Tretyakov Gallery, in 2009-at the Ludwig Museum in Koblenz, in 2005 and 2013 – at the MOMA in Moscow.

Since the 1980s Evgeni Dybsky has been working in series, which he gives different names to. Since 1992 he calls his series the same, “Translation of Time”, and numbers them sequentially, from Translation of Time I (1992 – 1993) to Translation of Time XVII (2013 – present). Series XVI (2007 – 2013) has a second name – “Giotto Project”. The starting point for the paintings that make up it is the restoration of Giotto’s frescoes in the Scrovegni Chapel in Padua.

Since the early 80s, Dybsky’s painting has become increasingly structured. Striving for various plastic and spatial penetrations, the artist uses new materials in addition to traditional ones. In some series, he added stones and hair to the painting, in others he “discovered” self-produced craquelure. On the surfaces of the works there are recesses, “craters”. The artist pays great attention to the materiality of the object, the material and technique, the tactile properties of the surface and the traces that time leaves.

Since 2013 a new spatial theme of light and shadow, chiaroscuro has entered his works and the current series Translation of Time XVII (Tintoretto Included) begins.

One of the notable features of his works is the technical perfection, unusual for painting of the Moscow school.

Works by Evgeni Dybsky are in the Hermitage Museum, the Russian Museum, MMOMA, the Zimmerli Museum, the Marconi Foundation in Milan and other collections.

Collection
Artworks
Evgeny Dybsky. «‎PTTXII»‎ #9, #10. 2004
Evgeni Dybsky

Евгений Дыбский

Евгений Дыбский живёт и работает в Берлине и Москве. Родился в городе Констанце, Румыния, на море, что считает для себя метафизически очень важным, вырос в Павловском Посаде. Учился в Москве, в училище памяти 1905 года (закончил в 1978 году), где одним из его преподавателей был Юрий Седов, познакомивший Дыбского с методом абстрактной живописи. Затем поступил на факультет графики Суриковского института, более «либеральный» и разносторонний, и закончил его в 1984 году. Преподававший там литографию Н.Л. Воронков стал его главным собеседником не только по вопросам материала, в котором студент много экспериментировал тоже. 

Ещё студентом в 70-х Евгений Дыбский показывал свои работы на молодежных и однодневных неофициальных выставках. Первую известность художнику принесла XV Московская молодёжная выставка (1983), где были показаны его москворецкие пейзажи на грани абстракции. В 1984 году сложившаяся небольшая группа живописцев в которую, кроме Дыбского, входили, в числе других, Лев Табенкин и Максим Кантор, организовала замеченную многими однодневную выставку в Доме художника на Кузнецком мосту. 

В 1985 году Дыбский познакомился с группой московских поэтов-метареалистов, один из которых, Алексей Парщиков, стал его близком другом.

В 1985-89 гг. Евгений Дыбский каждую весну выезжал работать в Крым. Сделанные в те годы пейзажные работы с натуры темперой – основа или, как писала Вибке фон Бонин, «резервуар форм» более поздних работ Дыбского, где изображение редуцируется, и живопись становится почти или полностью не фигуративной.

С 1987 года выставляется за границей: в Париже, Милане, Хельсинки, Стокгольме, Гамбурге. В 1988 г. работы Дыбского продаются на московском Sotheby’s. В 1990 г. он переезжает в Милан, где сотрудничает с галереей Джорджо Маркони. В 1996 – 2008 гг. жил в Кёльне, затем в Берлине. В 2003 году прошла персональная выставка Евгения Дыбского в Третьяковской галерее, в 2009 году – в музее Людвига в Кобленце, в 2005 и 2013 годах – в ММСИ в Москве.

С 1980-х годов Евгений Дыбский работает сериями, которым даёт разные названия. С 1992 года он называет свои серии одинаково, «Translation of Time», подразумевающее не перевод, а трансляцию времени, и последовательно нумерует, от Translation of Time I (1992 – 1993) до Translation of Time XVII (2013 – н.в.). Серия XVI (2007 – 2013) носит второе название, Giotto Project. Отправная точка для живописных работ, составляющих её, – реставрация фресок Джотто в капелле Скровеньи в Падуе.

С начала 80-х годов живопись Дыбского становилась всё более структурированной. Стремясь к различным пластическим и пространственным проникновениям, художник использует кроме традиционных, новые материалы. В одних сериях он добавлял в живопись камни и волосы, в других – «обнаруживает» самопроизводящийся кракелюр. На поверхностях работ встречаются углубления, «кратеры». Художник с большим вниманием относится к вещественности объекта, материалу и технике, тактильным свойствам поверхности и следам, которые оставляет время. 

С 2013 года в его работы вступает новая пространственная тема света и тени, chiaroscuro, и начинается актуальная серия Translation of Time XVII (Tintoretto Included).

Одна из заметных особенностей его работ – техническое совершенство, необычное для живописи московкой школы.

Произведения Евгения Дыбского находятся в Эрмитаже, Русском музее, ММСИ, музее Циммерли, Фонде Маркони в Милане и других собраниях.

Коллекция
Коллекция
Евгений Дыбский. «‎PTTXII»‎ #9, #10. 2004
Евгений Дыбский