Igor Chelkovski and Dunya Zakharova in Museum of Moscow
(Русский) Как прошел финисаж выставки «Вчера, сегодня, завтра»
This exhibition prepared for the opening of the Botanical Orangeries pays homage to Arkhangelskoye’s rich historical heritage, while at the same time looking forward to the future. The project intertwines different timelines, and artefacts from the past are glimpsed through paintings, drawings, sculptures and objects by present-day authors.

The Botanical Department, where the exhibition held, built to the east of the palace part of the estate and including a Cold Orangery ‘21 sazhens long and 14 arshins wide’, two greenhouses at the sides and the Palm (or the Muses’) and Erica Greenhouses opposite. Palm trees, erica, heathers and subtropical curiosities grew there. However, the Botanical Department did not last long: in 1832 Boris, the heir to Prince N.B. Yusupov, ordered it to be dismantled and the buildings demolished.

Nearly 200 years later the Cold Conservatory and greenhouses of the Botanica have been recreated on the old foundations, and their new purpose shifts the focus to another passion of the former owner, contemporary art. An aristocrat with an outstanding education, Yusupov was equally interested in antiquities, old masters and contemporary artists. Brought up in the Age of Enlightenment, he understood and keenly appreciated the art of his contemporaries; while travelling around Europe he visited the studios of painters and sculptors and bought their works or placed orders, he participated in auctions and followed the latest events in the art world.

The exhibition until October 31, 2022

Read more

Игорь Шелковский и Дуня Захарова в Музее Москвы
Как прошел финисаж выставки «Вчера, сегодня, завтра»

Выставка «Сады искусств. Метаморфозы», подготовленная к открытию Ботанических оранжерей, – оммаж насыщенному историческому прошлому этого места, и в то же время взгляд из сегодняшнего дня в будущее. В проекте сплетаются между собой разные временные линии, а музейные артефакты проглядывают сквозь живопись, графику, скульптуру и объекты современных авторов.На выставке представлены инсталляции, арт-объекты, живопись и графика известных современных художников.

Ботаническое отделение, в котором открылась выставка, построенная к востоку от дворцовой части усадьбы и включавшая в себя Холодную оранжерею «длиною 21 сажень и шириною 14 аршин», две теплицы по бокам и Пальмовую (Музовую) и Эриковую оранжереи напротив. В них росли пальмы, эрики, верески и субтропические диковинки. Однако просуществовало Ботаническое отделение недолго – в 1832 году наследник князя Н. Б. Юсупова Борис приказал его упразднить, а здания разобрать.

Спустя почти 200 лет Холодная оранжерея и теплицы Ботаники воссозданы на старых фундаментах, а их новое предназначение смещает фокус на другую страсть прежнего хозяина – современное искусство. Блестяще образованный аристократ, Юсупов с одинаковым интересом относился к древностям, старым мастерам и современным ему художникам. Воспитанный веком Просвещения, искусство современников он понимал и чувствовал особенно тонко, во время путешествий по Европе посещал мастерские живописцев и скульпторов, покупал работы, делал заказы, участвовал в аукционах, следил за всем происходящим в арт-мире.

Выставка до 31 октября 2022 г.

Читайте также